Taking of the oath by the new Commissioners

Yesterday, the Court of Justice held a formal sitting at which the two new members of the European Commission, Meglena Kuneva (shown above) Member of the EC in charge of Consumer Protection and Leonard Orban (shown below), Member of the EC in charge of Multilingualism, gave their solemn undertaking in accordance with the Treaties.

Following the accession of the Republic of Bulgaria and Romania to the European Union, the Council of the European Union appointed Ms Kuneva and Mr Orban as members of the European Commission for the period from 12 January 2007 to 31 October 2009.

Press release (pdf).